SBS Twin 20’s, Supermodified 50-Lapper This Weekend at Oswego Speedway

OSWEGO, NY – Only two events remain on Oswego Speedway’s 2017 schedule with this Saturday’s program highlighting Twin 20 Pathfinder Bank Small Block Super mains as well as a 50-lap Novelis Supermodified feature event presented by CNY CPR and

The Twin SBS mains will no doubt play a key role in who will be declared this year’s track champion.

Despite being winless on the season, Dave Cliff continues to lead the way in the standings, driving the Tim Barbeau No. 50, with six top five finishes this season. The defending track champion, Cliff hopes to continue his momentum this weekend and carry a comfortable margin ahead of Andrew Schartner, Camden Proud and Dalton Doyle into the speedway’s $5 admission track championship finale on Saturday, August 19.

Schartner, who put his father’s Schartner Racing Chassis in victory lane in its maiden voyage on Opening Night at the speedway, continues to ride second in the standings behind the wheel of the Crow Motorsports No. 18. Schartner has four top fives on the season and is the 2014 champion of the division.

Proud, the youngest ‘Rookie of the Year’ in series history, has had a veteran-like fourth season with five top five finishes including two second place efforts in the Proud Motorsports, Step One Creative No. 54 machine. Proud and Dalton Doyle have swapped the right to the third spot in points for the past several weeks.

Doyle, yet another driver sitting top five in the standings and wheeling a self-built machine, sits fourth in the ‘Road to the Championship’ after an eighth place finish in points last season with his family owned No. 01. The former quarter midget racer has three top fives and three podium finishes to his credit this year.

Filling out the remainder of the top ten in points are 2012 SBS Track Champion Kreig Heroth, ‘Mr, SBS’ 2017 Jesse Bearup, many year series veteran Jack Patrick, four time champion Mike Bond, first time winner this season Greg O’Connor and another SBS veteran in Barry Kingsley.

On the Novelis Supermodified side of the pits, four time feature winner Dave Shullick Jr. continues to all but seal the deal as 2017 Track Champion as he and car owner John Nicotra run away from the stout field of big blocks. His teammate Otto Sitterly, Jim Shampine Memorial Champ Keith Shampine, defending champion Michael Barnes, and ‘Retro Night’ winner Joe Gosek are all chasing ‘The Shoe 2.’

Adult general admission will be set at $17 this Saturday with tickets available at the gate or by calling the speedway box office at (315)-342-0646. Racing gets the green flag at 6:45pm. Kids 16 and under will be admitted free with paid adult.

For more information on Oswego Speedway visit online at, follow on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway, or like on Facebook at

About Oswego Speedway: Oswego Speedway, a sports entertainment company, is a 5/8 mile semi-banked pavement racing oval located off the shores of Lake Ontario in scenic Oswego, NY. Oswego Speedway has been a continuously run weekly racing venue since August, 1951. The premier open-wheel pavement short track cars in the world, Supermodifieds, run weekly at Oswego Speedway making Oswego the only weekly Supermodified racing venue in the world. The Small Block Supermodifieds accompany the full blown Supers on a weekly Saturday night schedule which runs from May through September. Oswego Speedway is mentioned in racing circles as the “Indy of the East,” as no fewer than a dozen past and present competitors have competed at the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway including Mario Andretti, arguably the greatest driver of all time, two-time Indy 500 champion Gordon Johncock, along with former International Classic Champions Bentley Warren, Joe Gosek, and Davey Hamilton.

Updated: August 10, 2017 — 10:51 AM
Copyright © 2017 CNY Motorsports; all rights reserved.